Picture
In the short story How I Met Your Husband  by Alice Munro, Edie, the protagonist, is the maid of a Veterinarian named Dr. Peebles. While working in the country, she meets this new pilot in town named Chris Watters  and falls in love with him without realizing that he was engage to Alice. Alice although seemed like a nice person by the Peebles makes a big deal about Edie being intimate with Chris even though intimate to Edie meant just kissing. This is an great example of deviance. After Chris leaves, Edie decides to wait for his letters as he promise he was going to write her but realizes that those letter were never going to to be received. So Edie and the mailman end up falling in love and create the dramatic irony of the idea that her current husband was supposed to be delivering his soon-to-be wife love letters from another man. 

Short after reading the story, the class was asked to answer and to think about who defines our acts of deviance as well as Edie's acts. In my opinion, I believe Edie's act of deviance were defined by herself since she was the first one to describe kissing as being intimate. If Edie had not defined this herself, this great misunderstanding would of been avoided. I do think, although, Edie is very ignorant. 

As far as my acts of deviance, I believe they are both defined by me and others. Sometimes I do things wrong that I know are wrong so I define those acts myself but sometimes I could unintentionally do something considered wrong by others and realize that I didn't even know it was considered wrong in the first place. I don't think the answer to this question could ever be others or one self since life is very complex. You have to take into account the individual circumstances that the act was done in. We yet again find ourselves is a shade of gray rather than a black or white one.

Jose. 


Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.