Picture
The newest psychological theory that I get to add to my shelf of knowledge is the Theory of Cognitive Dissonance. Wow, the new addition sure is a fancy way of referring to the state of mind holding two contradictory ideas are at the same time. You'll be surprise how many examples of this I have found in stories ever since I became aware of its existance. It's been like reliving the time when the iPhone first came out. Everyone had it but you didn't really pay mind to it until someone close to you got and now  you began to see it everywhere on everyone. Well, the iPhone, in my case are examples of Cognitive Dissonance. In The Most Dangerous Game  by Richard Connell, the protagonist Sargen Rainsford find himself conflicted of Zaroff's preferences of hunting humans! 

Now, if we listen closely to the things being said around us, we can some examples too. I read an article in class which said in order to learn new things you must stay confused. WHATTT!?! DO I hear the contradictory alarm going off? How can I learn if I am purposely staying confused?

Now you may be wondering what this picture of this fox here is. You see, during Ancient Greece, a slave and story teller named Aesop created many fables that famous and teaches many important life lessons. In his famous fable The Fox and Grapes, he gives an example of cognitive dissonance by describing a fox who wishes to reach some grapes that are unreachable. The story is a metaphor to human beings who try to maintain two conflicting ideas knowing finding a balance will unreachable just like the grapes.

Jose.


Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.