Survival of the Fittest.
What would you do if you were stranded on an island that is known for the place where humans were haunted and killed like animals? Yes, HAUNTED and KILLED LIKE ANIMALS. Honestly, I don't even know what I would do myself. The Most Dangerous Game by Richard Connell is a story about a guy named Sanger Rainsford who falls off his ships near an island that is referred to as the "Ship-Trap Island" among sailors. With that island as the nearest land to swim to, he swims to safety only to find himself meeting a hunter named General Zaroff who has an idiosyncratic preference when it comes down to choosing what to hunt. The story is filled with suspense and many literary concepts that are easily identifiable. Even psychological and sociological concepts, like the Theory of Cognitive Dissonance and Maslow's Hierarchy of Need, can be applied to this story easily. While reading this story, I just couldn't help myself to compare my I thought my reactions would of been to the one found in the story. I asked myself questions like what was it that I would have done differently, how would I had reacted to the situations faced by Rainsford, and most importantly what was it that I was going to do in order to survive! This story reminded me a lot of The Hunger Games by Suzzane Collins, in which a girl named Katniss Everdeen is chosen by the government to fight for her life against other teenagers like herself, and the TV series Lost, in which an airplane crashes on a random island and the passenger have to manage to survive in a jungle. 

Imagine how much fun would it be act this story out! It's filled with action! I secretly picture a movie when I read a story. I think about what would be the best camera angles to do this scene or that one, or the perfect location in which the movie could be recorded, or even the actors that would be casted as. If you have not read this story, I highly recommend you to read it, and for those who read it already, you must re read it. Just like when you watch a movie twice and you notice things that in the first time were missed, you'll do the same with the story. You'll enjoy it more. 

What do you think of while you read stories?

Jose.

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.