The Locus of Control Theory is a theory originated by Julian Rotler in the 1950's that classifies and refers to an individual's perception about the underlying main causes of events in his/her life. In other words, do you believe that you are in control of the outcomes brought by your future or do you believe that some supernatural force is in control? Within this theory in personality psychology, people can be divided into having one of the two types of Locus of Control, an Internal or External Locus of Control. 

1. Internal Locus of Control is found in individuals who believes his/her behaviors guided by his/her personal decisions. They believe to have the control.

2. External Locus of Control is found in individuals who believes his/her behavior is guided by fate, luck, or other external circumstances. 

There is a common misunderstanding when the two types of categories are introduced at first. Both of the categories have their advantages and disadvantages. People who have an Internal Locus of Control seem to be wealthier compared to people with an External Locus of Control but are also found to live a unstable lifestyle, either physically or mentally. People with an External Locus of Control are found to live more easy going, relaxed, happy lives but tend to be regular. 

Now, what would this idea serve if I didn't apply it to myself? I don't seem to fit it in either. Life is never black or white, but a shade color and that's what I feel like I am. In some situations I feel like I have the power to control my outcomes like for example my grades in school. I know that I will receive good grades only if I put quality into my work instead of waiting for fate to hand me an A. On the other hand, I also believe there are things that are out of my hands to control. Life itself is an example. People don't know exactly what they want to do or where they will end up and I believe there is a supernatural force that controls this things. If I were to choose only one type of Locus of Control, I would feel like I would be fighting myself. 

The higher you go, the harder you'll fall. The lower you go, the higher you'll rise. 

Jose.  

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.