I never realized how riddles could be an alternate option to tests. The group assigned to present the roles of riddles in Oedipus Rex explained the value riddles had in Ancient Greece. Greeks held education very highly and believed riddles were a quick way of showing your intelligence on the spot. In Oedipus Rex, The Sphinx's riddle was the following:

What goes on four legs in the morning, on two legs at noon, and on three legs in the evening?

When I first seen this riddle, I started to think of all of the animals that could fit this description. I thought of a frog, a bird, a bear but I never in my wildest dreams would of had guess the answer was a human! It never occurred to me the time of days could be describing the stages of life. The morning is referring to the early years of life leading to the evening which is when you need a walking stick to move around. I conducted a deep thought journey and realized all the advantages and disadvantages testing your intelligence with riddles had. Today, in order to show how intelligent you are you must pass certain tests that quizzes you on everything and anything. The Greeks only had to answer one riddle. If you succeed, you showed your intelligence. It was that simple but if you failed, you died. That is a huge disadvantage! Some riddles are for hardcore thinkers though so being asked a riddle does not mean you'll pass any easier than if you were to take a test. If you failed a test today, you will be disappointed but at least you are not killed for saying or writing the wrong answer. I wonder which system is better. 

Should riddles be used instead of tests to evaluate your intelligence like they were used in Ancient Greece?

I'll stick with tests. I don't want to die. 

Jose. 



Leave a Reply.