Picture
We have all heard the "its never to late" phrase before but I have never questioned its credibility. Who was it that said this and how do I know I can trust whoever's words these are? I mean, to me, these are nothing more than words said by a stranger and apparently were the same to Saki, the author of The Interlopers, specially when it came to the topic of forgiveness. The Interlopers is about two guys named  Ulrich and Georg, who are members of rival families for decades. In a fight for a piece of forestland, each of the guys feel the pressure to maintain this rivalry and when Ulrich heard Georg was hunting in this forest, he gathers some of his men in quest for Georg's last breath. Fate although resulted in having them both together in a not so easy to get out of situation and make peace right before natures kills them both. 

Saki is such an interesting author. During a class discussion, someone pointed out why would the author make the protagonists of the story apologize to each other and reach peace after decades of rivalry right before their death? I thought about this hard and I reason Saki's purpose was to contradict this old phrase of "it's never too late".  Maybe he doesn't agree with it and believes there is a point in which it is too late to act just like it was for Georg and Ulrich. On the other side of spectrum of view, it could also be possible he wanted to emphasize the foolishness of keeping a grudge that has no personal connection to your life. Just because their family members fought over this piece of forestland did not mean they had to fight too. I also thought about the symbolism of fighting for land and applied it to politics. I found myself also considering Saki's purpose was to express his opinion on countries that fight a lot over power. Maybe the fact Ulrich and Georg die after they make peace is symbolic for the same peace countries accomplish after they have already fought and harmed many people leaving the peace achieved in vain since the harm was already done. 

Sometimes the ambiguity of a story's purpose kills me, but then I realize, regardless of Saki's purpose on choosing this ending, Saki has achieved to make the story intriguing. 

P.S Checlk out this great short film about the story. 


Jose.


Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.