The last literary element that I had a hard time engraving it in my brain was Syntax. For some odd reason, everytime I read that word I think of the Lorax. (I think it's because they both end in "ax".) Syntax is defined as the way an author structures words to form a sentence. In other words the sentence structure. 

So what's the big deal about syntax? 

The most important aspect of Syntax is the way it connects together all the parts of a sentence correctly. So English has a certain Syntax that requires a sentence to have a subject and a predicate. This allows all of the literary works possible. Think of syntax as one of those games that requires a baby to put in the right shape into its corresponding place. The board is the syntax and the individuals shapes are the parts of the sentence. The syntax is kind of the foundation of the written language. 

P.S "Look at that author's syntax" said no one ever.

Jose.



Leave a Reply.