Before reading Oedipus Rex, you must be familiar with the setting of the story. It has happen once or twice to me that whenever I read a story that involves mythological elements, I find myself being lost. If you are not careful, you could easily believe the setting too was mythological when in reality exists. I usually be in need of a GPS. Luckily for me, there are only four main places Oedipus Rex takes place in. The main setting is south central Ancient Greece. In Greece there is an island named Delos in the Aegean Sea which is birth place to Apollo and Artemis, twin gods. It is in this island that the Oracle which foretells Oedipus' future lies. The next key place is the mountain named Cythaeran. This is the mountain where King Laus sent his son to die alone. The mountain is near the city of Thebes. There is also a mountain named Helicon that is highly favored by the gods. The last key place is named Delphi. Delphi is a shrine that was built for Apollo. It is considered the holiest place in Greece and the center of the world. The shrine is located under the mountain named Parnassus. 

In sum, Oedipus Rex takes place in 3 mountains, 3 cities, 1 island and 1 sea. The plot moves west of Greece and all settings have a relationship to a Greek God. 

P.S The video below is literally me when I read a story and don't know the setting.

Jose.

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.