Some may say the best tool to compare stories is by using a Venn Diagram, but I say the best way to analyze a story is to use 4 Corner Notes. The first time I was introduced to this note taking breakthrough I was skeptical and, frankly, irritated because the name is a false advertisement. The way that four corner notes works is by folding your paper both hot dog and hamburger style creating four corners on one side of the paper. At the top of the four corners you write the specific elements you are trying to find and when you catch them you jot them down. Here's the false advertisement  you have 4 more corners on the other side so the name becomes misleading. Now I may sound like I think having 8 corners is bad but I have a flexuous attitude towards it. Most of the time I really like it because it helps me understand the story better. I'm hoping to reach a level of analyzing that allows me to do this four corners all in my head. The only way is through practice. As of now, my note taking style while analyzing a story in college will be four corners. 


P.S the US has four states that create perfectly four corners. Can you guess which ones?



Jasmine J
1/29/2013 12:12:29 pm

I love this post! These four corner notes are saving my life when it comes to comprehending the stories we read for class. By focusing on finding things like tone, theme, and symbolism every week, when the AP test rolls around it will be natural for us. Even though it is HUGE false advertisement, I'm slightly glad we do it.

Reply
Jasmine J
1/29/2013 12:54:12 pm

These four corner notes are one of those things your parents would say "you'll thank me later" for. I was super mad too when I found out that it was false advertising in regards to how many corners it really was. On the bright side, I completely agree with what you're saying it helps you understand the story better. These four corners have been that light in a dark room for me when it comes to comprehension sometimes.

Reply



Leave a Reply.